Sweet Potato Skin Crisps

This is literally one of the most delicious homemade snacks I have ever made. They took me over an hour to make and were devoured within 3 minutes! But so worth it.

This recipe saves on wastage, saves money, and ensures that you know exactly what ingredients are in your crisps. No msg, additives, or preservatives. Also, as I’m running on a Passover theme, this is a great way to make sure your crisps are kosher for passover!

I was making sweet potato mash and saw a great opportunity to use the tasty crispy skins as a snack. Β But there are two ways to make these; you could also keep your peelings from sweet or normal potatoes and roast them separately.

Method 1:

1. Roast skin on sweet potatoes for 1 hr on 220 degrees with a drizzle of olive oil. Turn several times during roasting.
2. Remove the skins and mash the soft part of the potato with salt and pepper. Β Put the skins back on the oven tray. There should still be enough oil on the tray but if it is very dry add another drizzle of olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and put back in the oven on 250 for 15 minutes.

Method 2:

1. Wash and peel potatoes or sweet potatoes. Mix with a little olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and place on an oven tray in the middle of a hot oven.
2. Cook for about 45 minutes at 250 degrees or until the skins are cooked and crispy.
3. Cook the insides of the potatoes however you want. Boil, roast, or use in soups, stews, pies…see my recipes below.

These crisps are delicious with tzatziki dip or just on their own!

Enjoy!

Tip: Try using garlic or chilli oil instead of olive oil

You may also like these recipes:

About Vered at EatNowTalkLater

https://eatnowtalklater.wordpress.com/

33 responses »

  1. Pingback: Because Packages Make Food Taste Better « KidsDigGardens

  2. I have always wanted to learn how to make this. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚ When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some sorbet and would love to know what you think πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. They look better than the sweet potato!

    Reply
  4. These were so good! Not enough though!

    Reply
  5. Wow, this looks like such a great recipe! (I am so glad you stumbled upon my blog.) I am excited to make these this weekend, hurray!

    Reply
  6. Frugal City Girl

    These look delicious! I’ve just discovered kale chips as well – I’m loving all the semi-healthy alternatives to potato crisps.

    It’s also nice to meet another London Jewish girl! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. Aha – recently I’ve been giving myself a hard time about my food waste, this is one step towards reducing it! It won’t work for everything, of course… Kiwi skins don’t lend themselves to snacking, for example πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Mmm yum – now I can make sweet potato pie and not waste the skin πŸ˜€
    While having a great serving side too πŸ˜‰
    Also thank you for subscribing – I hope you enjoy my posts (which may be a little halted due to my exam studies :P)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  9. You are truly a genius! I have never thought of roasting the skins for a snack. They look so crispy and perfectly delicious.

    Reply
  10. HI. I nominated you for the Liebster award.. Good luck.

    Reply
  11. I love the idea of making crisps with the skins of potatoes. I think they’d be gorgeous with a nice spicy salsa.

    Reply
  12. I’m so glad you’re back because I missed all your posts and so here’s a little something from my blog to yours (http://averilgomes.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/mocha-chocolate-chunk-oatmeal-cookies-with-candied-ginger-and-a-blog-arward/)

    Have a great week.

    Reply
  13. i love sweet potato and this way of using the skins sounds delicious. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. Yum these look way better than what you would get at a restaurant!

    Reply
  15. Such a simple but wonderful idea for using something I would probably have thrown away. thank you for the inspiration x

    Reply
  16. WHAT a great idea! Especially since I’ve been peeling that skin away (since my picky kids will pick it off if I don’t). They might even be fooled into eating them anyway since they look just like chips! Fantastic! Thanks!

    Reply
  17. These look like something I would enjoy. I don’t love sweet potatoes but if they are in fries form or like what you have done then I enjoy πŸ™‚ I guess I don’t like the mushy texture of them…

    Reply
  18. This looks gorgeous! I love that then there is no waste πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    Reply
  19. Thanks for sharing this Vered. What a great way to use the skin!

    Reply
  20. Oh man, this sounds so good! I can’t think of many recipes where I’d use the middle of the sweet potatoes *without* the skin… but the next time one occurs to me, I’ll definitely make this too!

    Reply
  21. Sliced baked potatoes: thinly slice almost all the way through. drizzle with butter, olive oil, salt and pepper. bake at 425 for about 40 min. i want to try this with a sweet potato!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

