2 Paneer Recipes For The Price Of Yum!

Paneer is a totally vegetarian Indian white cheese. I would say it has a texture similar to halloumi, (but without the salty flavour) and is delicious in Indian cooking.

Although I am half Indian, I can’t remember eating much paneer at home. Strangely enough, I fell in love with paneer in Vietnam. When I was travelling around South East Asia with my boyfriend, we met an interesting guy in a guest house in Phnom Penh, Cambodia. We discussed books, the best hotels and places to eat. He had been living in Ho Chi Minh City and drew us a map on the back on a receipt. He recommended an Indian restaurant called Mumtaz on Bui Vien (road) and said we had to order the paneer tikka (grilled paneer). So of course, a week later, after we took the $10 bus crossing over from Phnom Penh to Ho Chi Minh City, Lewis and I went to try out this personally recommended restaurant. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the paneer tikka which was coated in spices, skewered and grilled.

Since then, I often choose the vegetarian option in Indian restaurants simply to eat paneer. I understand that the slightly rubbery texture is not for everyone, but if you haven’t tried it then here are two recipes for you to try. I can only hope that you like at least one of them!

You can buy paneer at most supermarkets (in the cheese aisle) and it is very easy to cook. Here are my two favourite ways.

Both my recipes are designed as side dishes. They are perfect served hot with rice, a chapatti and any curry or a lentil dahl.

Fried Paneer

Start to finish time: 15 minutes
Serves: 5

Ingredients:
250g cubed paneer
1 tbsp cumin seeds
1 tsp sunflower or vegetable oil

For the coating:
3 tbsps plain flour
1 tsp tumeric
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp chilli powder
1/2 tsp cumin powder

1. Mix all the coating ingredients in a bowl. Add the cubed paneer and stir it up so that all the paneer is covered in the mix.

2. Heat the oil in a large non-stick frying pan and add the paneer. Fry on a high heat and keep tossing the paneer so that is doesn’t burn.

3. When the coating looks golden and crispy, move the paneer to a plate covered with a napkin and dry off any excess oil.

Yum no. 1, done!

Paneer with Spinach and Peas

Start to finish time: 40 minutes
Serves: 5

1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
250g paneer, cubed
5 blocks frozen spinach
75g frozen peas
1 tbsp sunflower/vegetable oil
1 tsp minced peeled fresh ginger
2 tbsp tomato puree
2 tbsp water
A handful of fresh coriander, chopped
salt & pepper

Spices:
1 tsp chilli powder
1 tsp paprika powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp tumeric
1/2 tsp ground coriander

1. Gently fry the onion, ginger and garlic in the oil until softened. Heat the spices in a separate pan and then add to the onion pan.

2. Add the frozen spinach and peas and stir through. When the spinach has started to cook, add the water, coriander and tomato puree. Stir through.

3. In a separate pan, dry fry the paneer until golden and then add to the main pot. Keep stirring on medium heat for about 10 minutes to allow the flavours to mingle. Add salt and pepper to taste.

You can also experiment with other vegetables, such as: cauliflower, tinned tomatoes, and cubed potato.

What is your favourite paneer recipe? Did you try my recipe? I’d love to hear from you.

About Vered at EatNowTalkLater

https://eatnowtalklater.wordpress.com/

11 responses »

  1. Delicious! I have to say spinach and paneer is my favourite!

    Reply
  2. Looks really delicious, thanks for sharing. I’ve never tried paneer, but I shall try to find some.

    Reply
  3. Thanks for this delicious dinner Vered. It was really yummy!

    Reply
  4. Looks fantastic, will have to try this.

    I made paneer out of milk with Jo and Ruthie once, but it turned into an epic disaster involving an attempt to bulk it out with cheddar on the advice of a crazed Lewes Road Indian restaurant owner. Turns out that cheddar instantly melts on deep frying. And so do plastic spatulas put in to try and retrieve the remains :-(.

    Still, it’s actually pretty easy to make the paneer itself, as long as your assistants are not Jo or Ruthie…

    Reply
  5. I wish I knew someplace here in France to buy paneer cheese. I love it! Especially with spinach.

    Reply
  6. I made my own paneer for the first time a couple months ago. Both these recipes look dee-lish…will have to try them next time I make paneer!

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Cauliflower and Chickpea Curry « Eat Now Talk Later

  8. These look amazing! I’ll have to try them soon. I’ve been wanting to make my own paneer, so I might experiment with that as well. Your blog looks great, by the way.

    Reply
  9. Raphael Sylvester

    Vered – you are totally cool and I’m going to cook me some paneer some time, thanks to your blog. Which I had no idea was so great!! When you going to be on TV?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

