Mozzarella and Pesto Puff Pastry Squares

I love puff pastry. It is so easy to cook with, you can do so much with it, and it’s tasty! Well, it’s not easy to actually make by yourself, but as I’ve said before, I’m not the amazing baker in the family! I’m the passionate amateur cook.

This is a really simple but tasty recipe for puff pastry squares with mozzarella and pesto. I  often make it with other toppings too, such as goat’s cheese and caramelised onion. You can serve it as a starter with a nice rocket salad, or as a part of a meal; a light lunch perhaps. Plus, it has that added bonus of being vegetarian, so a great dish to make for your veggie friends.

This has very few ingredients and takes hardly any time to cook. I recommend baking the pastry for about 10 mins before adding any heavy toppings, in order to let it puff properly! No one wants unpuffed puff!

Personally, I think it’s best served hot.

Mozzarella and Pesto Puff Pastry Squares

Start to finish time: 30 mins
Serves: up to 12 (as a starter)

Ready rolled puff pastry (if you can get the one on baking paper it’s easier)
Jar of pesto
1 big Mozzarella ball (or about 250g)
2 tomatoes on the vine
12 black olives
Salt and pepper

1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees or as per the instructions on the puff pastry. Cut the pastry into evenly sized squares, about 10x10cm. Spread the squares with pesto and place into the middle of the hot oven. While it’s cooking, cut the mozzarella and tomatoes into thin slices, and the olives into halves.

2. When the pastry has puffed and started to golden, take them out the oven and very quickly add the other toppings. 1 slice of tomato, a couple of slices of mozzarella and 2 olive halves to each square. Sprinkle some salt and pepper and put them back into the oven. The quicker you do this stage, the better.

3. Bake for another 10 minutes or until the pastry is perfectly puffed and golden and the cheese has melted. Serve with salad.

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! Any comments are very welcome, especially if you try out any of my recipes and have any feedback.

About Vered at EatNowTalkLater

https://eatnowtalklater.wordpress.com/

19 responses »

  1. I can vouch for their yumminess and being impressively easy (so much so that we are are planning to copy them this weekend).

    Reply
  2. Those look amazing! Puff pastry and melted cheese are two of the yummiest foods on the planet. I’m definitely going to have to try these.

    Reply
  3. Omg omg these look amazing. I have never cooked with puff pastry, but today I was trying to think of a way to make little gourmet pizza rolls/bites like you can get in the US and I thought maybe puff pastry squares might work.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Cherry Tomato and Aubergine Pasta « Eat Now Talk Later

  5. Mine didnt turn out very well,I put the puff in for around 10 mins But once fully cooked i found the pastry a bit soggy in the middle,I dont think i rolled it out thin enough !!!

    Reply
    • Interesting. Yes, perhaps it was too thick, or maybe it just needed longer? Every oven is different. You often get a slightly wetter bit in the middle which is why I like to cook my pastry a bit before putting toppings. I usually use the ready rolled pastry which is nice and easy and the right thickness. If you try it again roll it a bit thinner and leave in the oven until it is puffed. Good luck!

      Reply
  6. OMG this looks so good!! My Husband would go nuts for this. I might have to try making this one night when he’s working and surprise him when he gets home. Thank you so much for posting! Happy Holidays!

    Reply
  7. We don’t get ready puff pastry here in Mumbai so I’ve been planning to make my own …but I’ve been procrastinating. Should get down to it while the weather gets from warm to hot to hotter ;-)… Just discovered your blog… shall keep visiting for sure.

    Reply
  8. They look amazing – bet they taste good too!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: Aubergine and Feta Tarts with a Tamarind Drizzle « Eat Now Talk Later

  10. Looks amazing, I am pinning this!

    Reply
  11. Can’t wait to try this – off to the store to purchase some puff pastry.

    Reply
  12. Yummy! Thanks for stopping by and liking my post about The Red Apron Blog..Cute and mouth watering blog 😉

    Reply
  13. OMG these look so delish!

    Reply
  14. Totally loved the recipe. Yummy!

    Reply
  15. Have cooked some as a starter with salad garnish hope they will be able to reheat a little later on.?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

