Purple Brussel Sprouts

Food Club this week was Christmukka (Christmas and Hanukkah) themed. We had some delicious foods, including mulled cider, potato latkes, mince pies, my sister’s delicious christmas tree brownies, and spinach and artichoke dip (from Elly of VCBT).

Amongst other things, I made brussel sprouts. Is this your idea of food hell? Well, I know they are not the most popular vegetable for a lot of people, but they are traditionally eaten at Christmas and personally I like them! The problem is that too many people boil them until they are soft and smell like farts. Yes I said farts.

Brussel sprouts are so much better paired with garlic (I’m Indian-Italian; every meal starts with garlic!)

Purple sprouts seem to be relatively newly available.  The first mention I can find of them being available to us in the UK is from November 2010. When I saw them in Tesco I have to admit I was a bit excited! They are beautifully rich in a reddish-purple colour.

I boiled them for a few minutes until they were just starting to soften and then fried them in butter, olive oil and plenty of garlic. They lose some colour when boiling and the water turns purple!

My first impression when eating them was that they were slightly sweeter and less ‘cabbagey’ than normal sprouts. They were really quite tasty and everyone at food club thought so too!

My conclusion is that they are really tasty and worth a try; excitingly new and full of colour! However don’t give up on the regular green sprouts; we don’t want to make them redundant!

About Vered at EatNowTalkLater

http://eatnowtalklater.wordpress.com/

4 responses »

  1. oh my gosh! i’ve never seen purple brussels sprouts before! they are beautiful!

    Reply
  2. I have never seen purple ones. I bet they are good. I love brussels sprouts.

    Reply
  3. The Cosy Creative

    Wow I didn’t even know purple brussel sprouts existed! I’m not normally a fan of brussels but I might have to give these a go.

    Reply
  4. I feel like such a child for this, but when I read that people boil them until they’re soft and smell like farts I chuckled out loud :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

